12th Tan Chin Tuan Nursing Awards

23 Nov 2018

The 12th Tan Chin Tuan Award was held on 23 November 2018 at the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine Auditorium (Novena Campus). This event was established by Dr Della Suantio Lee to honour our founder, Tan Sri (Dr) Tan Chin Tuan.

In attendance were TCTF Council Members and 26 guests from 18 TCTF-supported charities. Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Law and Ministry of Health, Mr Edwin Tong graced this event as guest-of-honour and presented the awards with Chairman of D.S. Lee Foundation, Dr Della Lee and TCTF Deputy Chairman, Ms Chew Gek Khim.

The champion was Principal Assistant Nurse, Ms Rahinah Bte Ibrahim from the Institute of Mental Health (IMH), with 26 years of experience in nursing. Of which, she has spent 16 years in IMH, sharing her expertise by conducting training for junior nurses and improving work processes in the hospital. She derives satisfaction in her work, teaching long-stay patients skills to improve their functioning and well-being to re-integrate into the community.

Mdm Faridah Binte Hassan, with 40 years of experience in nursing was acknowledged for her efforts in the various electronic workflow and patient equipment in Ng Teng Fong General Hospital. Ms Jenny Yong, from Home Nursing Foundation was also recognised for her work in improving the electronic scheduling system in her organization, apart from her high quality nursing care for her patients. Both nurses clinched the runner up position in the Tan Chin Tuan Nursing Award.

We commend their compassion, patience and the excellence they have shown in their noble profession! A special thanks to Dr Della Lee and D.S. Lee Foundation for their unwavering support for enrolled nurses as well as Singapore Nurses Association for organising the event.